St Simon Stock
Primary 1957 – 1961 and Secondary 1962 – 1975
In 1957, a primary school was established in Greystanes.
The primary school also acted as the church for parishioners on weekends, and was known as St Simon Stock’s School.
St Simon Stock Boys’ School began in 1959 to take the boys from Greystanes and surrounding parishes. In 1962, St Simon Stock Boys High School enrolled its first secondary students.
The Parish of Our Lady of Mt Carmel, Wentworthville, established a primary school in 1920, and the parish of St Margaret Mary, Merrylands, established a primary school in 1942. These parish schools could not accommodate the growing population to their immediate west and south.
To alleviate this, the Parish of St Anthony’s, Toongabbie, established a primary school in 1950, but the areas of Pendle Hill and South Wentworthville or West Merrylands, which eventually became the suburb of Greystanes, had a large Catholic population. As such, they needed a primary school in the area, as travelling to the existing Catholic primary schools took a great deal of time.
In 1957 a primary school was established. This new primary school also acted as the church for parishioners on weekends and was known as St Simon Stock’s School.
From 1959, boys from Greystanes and surrounding parishes were enrolled at St Simon Stock Boys School.
In 1962, St Simon Stock Boys High School admitted its first secondary school students, and the Simon Stock Wing and St Paul Wing around Top Yard was the building which was to house classrooms and administration. The new buildings which were added at this time were officially opened on 1st July 1962.
From 1962 until 1967 St Simon Stock Boys High School was administered by the Carmelite Fathers based at Wentworthville Priory. The school’s motto was ‘Esto Vir’ which means ‘Be a Man’. The school ran classes from Year 4 (Fourth Grade) through to Year 9 (Third Form).
With introduction of the Wyndham Scheme in New South Wales and an extra year of schooling, the Carmelite Fathers felt they could no longer staff and administer St Simon Stock. Cardinal Gilroy asked the Brothers of the Society of St Gerard Majella to take over the running of the school.
From 1968 until 1975, the school continued to be known as St Simon Stock Boys’ High School, with classes from Year 5 through to Year 10.
Discover the unique history of our school, past and present
We are proud of our exceptional school and the students and staff over the years who have possessed the dedication, talent, and enthusiasm to make Catholic education in Greystanes so special. Learn more about who we are.